Understanding the different types of discrimination

Tools & Resources

Understanding the different types of discrimination

Key learnings

  • There are nine protected characteristics that everyone in the UK has the right to defence from prejudice. 
  • Each of these characteristics fall into five types of discrimination - direct or indirect discrimination, positive discrimination, discrimination by association and discrimination by perception. 
  • To prevent allegations of discrimination in your workplace, you should introduce policies and procedures that informs employees on what’s acceptable conduct. 

Just a second

Log in or sign up for free to view this.

You can unlock this content for free, alongside our other amazing support. Log in or click 'Sign Up' to find out more.

Required *

Not Registered?

Forgotten your password? Reset Password

Required *
  • Include Number
  • Include Special Character
  • Include Lowercase
  • Include Uppercase
  • At Least 8 Characters

Already have an account?